Archive for March, 2008

Phishing Scam Targets Google AdWords Clients

Monday, March 31st, 2008

March 31, 2008 - A current “phishing” email scam is targeting advertisers using the Google AdWords program.

The emails ask AdWords advertisers to click a link to verify account information or credit card numbers. The emails look very official and may appear to come from support@google.com and adwords-noreply@google.com.

Clicking the link in the email will take you to a page that resembles Google, but it is really a fake page on another server designed to trick you into sharing account information or credit card numbers.

All authentic communications from Google AdWords are sent to OnYourMark, LLC on our clients’ behalf. If a credit card number or account data needs to be changed, OnYourMark, LLC will notify you. If you receive any emails that appear to be from Google AdWords or ask for data from your Google AdWords account, please Contact Us. We are happy to help!

To learn more about “phishing,” please see our January 2004 Ask-the-Pro article, “What is phishing?”

Sample Messages

Dear Google AdWords Customer,Please sign in to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login, and update your billing information.

Your account will be reactivated as soon as you update your payment information. Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive our signed debit authorization before your ads start running, depending on your location.

If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your first payment.

We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

Sincerely,
The Google AdWords Team

******************************

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

Your ads have stopped running because we were unable to process your billing information. We will reactivate you account after you update your billing information. In order to reactivate your account, please sign it to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login, and update your billing information. Once your account is reactivated and your billing information has been processed, any your ads and campaigns can begin running immediately on Google.

You will not be asked to submit your billing information every time you create a new ad or campaign. If your payment has been declined and you’d like to resubmit the same credit card information, you may also do so by clicking the Retry card button on your Billing Preferences page. After updating your credit card information (regardless of whether or not you use a different card), it can take up to 24 hours before your ads start running again. You also have the option of providing a backup credit card to help ensure that your ads run continuously in the case that your primary payment method fails.

Sincerely,
The Google AdWords Team

******************************

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

Your ads have stopped running because we were unable to process your billing information.

We will reactivate you account after you update your billing information.

In order to reactivate your account, please sign it to your account at http://adwords.google.com/select/login, and update your billing information. Once your account is reactivated and your billing information has been processed, your ads and campaigns can begin running immediately on Google.

Advertise your business on Google

No matter what your budget, you can display your ads on Google and our advertising network. Pay only if people click your ads.

Your Domain Name Renewal(s)

Thursday, March 27th, 2008

Your Domain Name Renewal(s)

We’re recommending domain name registration renewals for all of our clients’ domain names that are expiring before the end of 2010.

The reasons:

First, search engine results are enhanced. See our blog about Google’s domain name patent for domain names as they relate to search at http://blog.RegisterSuccess.com/

Second, you save money. Domain name registrations tend to be cheaper per year when you register them for a longer time. You also save on the nominal renewal service fee.

Please be sure to deduct $25 from the total on your invoice when you get payment to us within ten (10) days.

Finally, avoid scams. You’ll save yourself the time and confusion often caused by email and US Mail scammers and spammers who use shady practices to get you to renew expiring domain names with a service that overcharges or is otherwise difficult to work with. Some are just plain scams.

Remember, you own your domain name. Your renewal does not mean a ten-year commitment to OnYourMark either - just a nine or ten year extension of your ‘ownership’ of your domain name(s).

Please contact Kathy, Ellen or Keith at OnYourMark, LLC (262-820-8201 or 800-747-3399) with any questions or suggestions.

Regards,
Your Team at OnYourMark, LLC

 
icon for podpress  Podcast Video [3:04m]: Play Now | Play in Popup | Download

Our Video Developer is Final Cut Certified!

Wednesday, March 19th, 2008

Congratulations to our Video Developer, Christian Kocinski, who passed his Final Cut Pro Certification Exam today! Certification recognizes Christian’s personal expertise in Final Cut Pro and highlights the vast proficiency our video department has with its software.

Domain Name Registration and Keyword Spam

Friday, March 14th, 2008

Some OnYourMark, LLC clients have received emails informing you that someone is “applying to register [Your Domain Name] as their domain name and Internet keyword.” This is simply spam.

The email is to try and get you to purchase additional domain names such as onyourmark.cn or onyourmark.hk… your domain with the Chinese or Hong Kong extensions. Our clients almost never get domain names with the extensions of other countries. We see a lot of spams like this from China.

We get a lot of spam faxes for domains too, like “OnYourMark.info is about to expire!” We don’t even own or have an interest in OnYourMark.info; it’s just a spammer trying to get you to think your domain is expiring.

When your real domains are close to expiration, we let you know far ahead of time.

So, if you get an email like this:

Dear (Your Domain Name),
We are [Company Name] Co.,Ltd, which is the domain name register center in (city name) China. We received a formal application from a company who is called ShenBan Investment(China) Co.,Ltd are applying to register ” [Your Company or Domain Name]” as their domain name and Internet keyword on Mar 12th, 2008. Because this involved your company name or trade marks so we inform you in no time. If you considered these domain names and internet keywords are important to you and there was necessary to protect them by registering them first, contact us soon.
Kind Regards,
Jason.tan
Beijing [Company Name] Co.,Ltd

just discard it.

If you have questions please email support@OnYourMark.com with your concern or question or call our office at 262-820-8201.

Here is a link to a blog you might be interested in. The blog entry is about what happened when they replied to one of these types of emails.

http://www.healthbusinessblog.com/?p=1620