Domain Name Registration and Keyword Spam
Some OnYourMark, LLC clients have received emails informing you that someone is “applying to register [Your Domain Name] as their domain name and Internet keyword.” This is simply spam.
The email is to try and get you to purchase additional domain names such as onyourmark.cn or onyourmark.hk… your domain with the Chinese or Hong Kong extensions. Our clients almost never get domain names with the extensions of other countries. We see a lot of spams like this from China.
We get a lot of spam faxes for domains too, like “OnYourMark.info is about to expire!” We don’t even own or have an interest in OnYourMark.info; it’s just a spammer trying to get you to think your domain is expiring.
When your real domains are close to expiration, we let you know far ahead of time.
So, if you get an email like this:
Dear (Your Domain Name),
We are [Company Name] Co.,Ltd, which is the domain name register center in (city name) China. We received a formal application from a company who is called ShenBan Investment(China) Co.,Ltd are applying to register ” [Your Company or Domain Name]” as their domain name and Internet keyword on Mar 12th, 2008. Because this involved your company name or trade marks so we inform you in no time. If you considered these domain names and internet keywords are important to you and there was necessary to protect them by registering them first, contact us soon.
Kind Regards,
Jason.tan
Beijing [Company Name] Co.,Ltd
just discard it.
If you have questions please email support@OnYourMark.com with your concern or question or call our office at 262-820-8201.
Here is a link to a blog you might be interested in. The blog entry is about what happened when they replied to one of these types of emails.